Showing posts with label 2012. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2012. Show all posts

Saturday

What happened next.....

 
Early in the week I posted about my adventures in the ombré hair world.

As I mentioned I didn't stop at the typical brown to blonde/ginger locks that I pictured at the end of that post.

Here is my hair as of today...

 
 
It turned my ends dark pink.

I did this by using my old favourite Dark Tulip from Directions

I love it so much.

I miss having my pink hair but for up keep and professional reasons a full head isn't really practical so this satisfies my cravings while balancing the real world nicely.

Tomorrow night is my work night out, so I'm not sure I'll be getting a post up :-( I've never been very good with the whole scheduling thing on blogger.

It's an evening that could go either way in terms of it being brilliant or dire. And there's one person in particular that I'm really a bit worried about seeing while the drinks are flowing....

If your reading this on Saturday evening please send me some words of encouragement/your best chat up lines ;-) on twitter.

I'll let you know how it goes,x

 

Thursday

A cozy night in (with bargain pizza)

It's December I've done the vast majority of my Christmas shopping and its cold outside.

Essentially I'm skint and with the exception of my 241 trip to the cinema last night I'm allowed 2 nights out this month, my work night out and my friends birthday.

So what's my plan for the rest of the time?

Thankfully my friends have cozy houses and well stocked fridges ;-)

Tonight though I'm looking forward to a well deserved day off tomorrow and I'm getting cozy watching The Santa Clause (again!)

Since tonight is technically my Friday night I thought I'd have some pizza. Yeah, this fat girl won't be slim anytime soon...

But my current cash flow status won't stretch to a dominos,even with the 50% off that the repeatedly told me about today.

Happily though I've discovered the hidden gem that is Morrisons frozen pizzas.

For the princely sum of £1 they do amazingly good perfectly sized pizzas.

The first one I got was a couple of weeks ago, Chicken Fajita. I didn't hold out much hope but it was great, actually had a decent amount of topping and easily surpassed that well known pizza chain in terms of flavour.

So tonight I opted for garlic chicken and it was equally as good.

I mean, it won't win a beauty contest, but it was delicious and cheap. And right now that's what I'm looking for.

 

Now if they could just work on the whole making them zero calorie........ I digress.....

What's your favourite 'oh dear I'm skint but I'm starving' food?

 

 

 

 

The Impromptu Haul

I went to see Skyfall tonight.

Well technically I went to see Daniel Craig (although I actually thought Q cute as well)

But before that I had some time to kill.

I bought a couple of bits I thought I'd share....

 

I got the manicure kit from primark for a bargain opus 2.50, I'm keen to see how this compares to my MUA nail constellation that I posted about previously.

I seem to be having a berry lip phase at the moment so when I wandered into Superdrug, just to keep out of the cold of course ;-), I picked up a couple of revlon treats. The Lip Butter in Berry Smoothie and the Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Crush.

I blame to cold weather for these purchases. That's my story and I'm sticking to it!

 

Tuesday

That was the day that was...

Tonight my dears this blogmas post will be short.

I've had the day from hell and I am getting comfy in a slightly saggy couch in a bar as we speak.

So tonight's question is....

What are you having?

In my case I'm having a watermelon martini.

It's got fruit on the glass so I'm classifying it as one of my 5 a day ;-)
 
Until tomorrow my dears, CHEERS!

 

Monday

L'oreal Preference Wild Ombré

Finally a beauty post, hurrah!

At the weekend I had a day off (shock horror) so I went for a little wander around boots.

Like everyone else I've seen a million adverts for this new kit from l'oreal. And I've heard quite a lot of varying reports about how well it works and whether it's worth the money. And if it wasn't for the fact I had some points to spend I probably would've left it on the shelf.....

I'm glad I didn't.

I will say I don't think this kit is for everyone, the brush can be fiddley and you really need to set aside a good chunk of time and think be quite patient. Maybe not best for novice hair colour users. Also the colour your going to get will vary A LOT depending on what your working over.

My hair was already covered with dark brown dye, but I'd previously bleached it in September (so I could have my hair purple for my birthday) so I wasn't dealing with too much dye build up but I still expected a ginger hue rather than golden blonde.

Some people have reported the smell of this stuff to be hideous, and while I won't say it's nice it just smells like hair dye to me..

I fully expected this stuff to not do all that much, and for the first ten minutes it didn't. I was a bit disappointed but I persevered. Now in the application instructions it does say to start at the tips and work up thought the lengths. In a few reviews I've read I've seen pics of folk left with a harsh line between their base colour and the lightened ends. This is my advice,

WORK SLOWLY and if you think your going slow GO SLOWER!!!

I put the stuff on the very ends of my hair maybe an inch at the most. And left it a good ten minutes before coming back to do the next inch, and I repeated this until I got to my desired level and I left last 'layer' on for only about 5 mins before I washed it out.

Here is my after, please excuse the no makeup and horrible artificial lighting but the sun doesn't shine at 3am...

I'm actually really quite pleased with how it came out, it's slightly less ginger in real life but I think the gradual-ness of the colour change worked out pretty well. Well, as well as a non professional using an 'at home' box kit can expect.

I would've taken a daytime shot but lets just say I didn't stop here ;-)

Do follow (links in the sidebar) to see what happened next!

If you have any questions please do feel free to ask either on here or twitter.

Have you tried this product? What did you think?

Or is the ombré hair thing just a bit too cliche? :-)

 

Sunday

Oh Christmas tree

Right now I'm having my annual 'put up the tree and watch Scrooged evening'

It's blissful.

Here is my tree....

It may look slightly crazy but there's just so much love in it it makes me smile every time I see it.

My parents bought me it along with the star and the basic silver baubles the first year I moved into my own place, and every year I pull it out and love putting on those same baubles and all the other ornaments I've gathered through friends and family or on my travels. Every single thing has meaning.

I just can't get how some people shell out a fortune every year for a pre decorated colour coordinated thing. But I suppose each to their own!...


What's your tree like?

Or if your not of the christmas persuasion is there another holiday that your looking forward to?

P.S. When I grow up I want to be the Ghost of Christmas Present!

 

Saturday

Merry Blogmas!

Now first off is Blogmas one S or two?

Answers on a postcard.


I won't make promises on this as I work in retail and have been known to come in from work and immediately hide under my duvet (while still wearing my coat) due to the utter craziness that is work. But I feel I have been quite rubbish of late on the old blog front so I'd like to get a little more back on track.

 

I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Christmas.

I love all the obvious fun stuff like parties, Starbucks red cups, giving people I love presents and eating so much I might explode.


 

But I do have a couple of things that I'm really not so keen on like being so skint from buying presents that I'm drinking tap water at the work Christmas party, waiting on the bus in a complete blizzard and the inevitable awkward trip to see some relatives you only ever see once a year.

 

And don't even start me on having to perpetually answer the age old question "so have you found yourself a nice young man yet?" (which reminds me I really should pick up some mistletoe.....)

But most of the time I'll be that annoying one running around singing along to Mariah Carey and making everyone eat mince pies.

 

Are you a holiday lover or are you a bit of a Scrooge?

 

On a completely unrelated note does anyone else find Brad Pitt totally cringe-worthy in that Chanel advert?


 

Monday

The apt polish (OPI Not like the movies) NOTD

Hey, long time no see!

Feels like forever since I've blogged.

But life just got a bit in the way.

Today's post is inspired by the random way my brain works.

It was Sunday afternoon that I realised I'm prone to a bit of apt polishing. What I mean is if I have a polish that somehow fits my mood I'll tend to reach for that one.

Like using my private jet before boarding a plane, or breaking out beach party for a trip to the beach, or last years favourite for me which was the minute it snows covering any and all manicures with a layer of snow globe.

This time it is Not like the movies from OPIs Katy Perry collection. This is by far and away my favourite polish ever in the world. All the pretty shades of purple silver and green and shimmer. There is really nothing to not like about it.

 

However......

 

This found its way onto my digits as recently as sadly I'm currently more than a little disillusioned on the old romance front. There's a guy, I like him, he's very sweet to me. I can't decide whether I'm coming or going. Guys can be so dumb sometimes........le sigh.


 

Do you ever apt-polish? If so what are you wearing now?

 

 

Thursday

Went to work...

OK so I'm sticking my hands up here....

I shouldn't be posting......

I'm a bit tipsy.....

Went on a work day out....there was a business class lounge at the airport on the way back....enough said??

Here is some pictures from the day.


Normal service shall resume tomorrow.xxx

I went here

I saw this

I did this (His name is George)
And yes i know I'm chubby!

I bought this!!

So until tomorrow good night my friends. I'm so glad I'm home in time for Red Dwarf!!



Monday

Blogtober

There I was minding my own business watching You tube videos seeing everyone getting all excited over Vlogtober and I got to wondering if there was a blogging equivalent.

A quick Google search later and i found out there is!

So since I've been quite good over the past few days I think I'll give it a go.

I don't think I've quite got time to change my polish everyday so there may be a a few more general life posts but since I'm new at this it could be a way for you to get to know me and hopefully by following #blogtober on twitter I'll get to know a few new folk as well.

If you'd like to stay updated there is a few options for following on the right there ---------->

And if your taking part feel free to link your blog in the comments and i'll have a gander round your corner of the interweb as well :-)

Since i like to include pictures here's a random pic of myself i took on my Ipad
(note: i don't really look like this!!)


Saturday

The most wonderful time of the year...

Oh how i love Autumn....

Let me count the ways....

1. Super cosy socks


I got these lovelies from trusty old Primark (2 pairs for £2!). They are ridiculously soft and soooo cosy. I hate waring shoes in the flat but when the weather turns the wooden floors really are to chilly to go without so cosy socks are lovely. The best thing about cosy socks is when you get in from a really cold walk, perhaps you've stepped in a puddle, and you get home and put on your fluffy socks.

Have I over thought this? Probably.

P.S Also extremely good for sliding on the floor pretending your a ninja :-)


2. Tea

Now I'm a consummate coffee drinker, I mean, seriously, I should just organise some kind of IV delivery system, but come Autumn I'm a cosy evening cuppa tea drinker.
My favourite is honey, chamomile and vanilla from Twinings.

(The Skeleton ginger bread man was from Sainsburys and was incredibly good)

The herbal stuff isn't everyones cup of tea (boom boom) but this is soothing and sweet enough to drink without adding 10 tonnes of sugar. Perfect for when the nights are drawing in. 


3. Autumn Scents

This is the time of year i go crazy for home fragrance.
And i know its not just me that this happens to.
I'm pretty sure the wee lady over at the Yankee candle kiosk is paid year round from the profits between now and Christmas.


I picked up these wax tarts (they have a special burner thing which they melt in). I melted another sugared apple tart i had last night, i had my cosy socks on and a cup of tea. It was raining outside but I was in cosy heaven watching QI :-)

For when these aren't burning I picked up a lovely hand wash from bath and bodyshop.


It smells incredible, sweet and warm. If, like me, cinnamon gives you a sore head this is your perfect autumn scent.

I'm always devastated that we don't have easy access to Bath and Body works stuff here, but the little range on that site soothes me slightly. I just wish they didn't run out of stock on everything I want so quickly.

What do you love about Autumn?
Do you Americans find it amusing that we call it Autumn?
Or are you just blocking the whole thing out waiting for summer again?
Let me know in a comment below or Tweet me

I have a feeling that there may be more to add to my list of autumn loves.
Make sure you subscribe for more!


CB

CB HQ

Ahh it feels good to be in front of the screen again.

Its been a while.

This desk is where my witterings about my life will now come from. I instagramed (link in the side bar) a pic of this a while ago now. Then my laptop broke. I've got it going again but its still quite ropey.



I'll address the elephant in the room first off..... as you can see my polish collection is looking healthy, some people would call it an obsession but everyone deserves their own little indulgence. Im going to endevour to put some posts up with swatches of my favourites. And yes, i had an awesome time organising them all.

I've been inspired recently to have my own little slice of the internet (as Louise would say) so im hoping that posts will be a bit more often and a bit more varied, it'll be fun to look back in a few years and see all the random bits of my life.

Life has been a bit changeable recently, as i suppose it should be :-)

I had a milestone birthday..............it took a while for me to get to grips with that.

I had an awesome party, I drank a little too much (hic!)

We ate an aweful lot of Costco cake, we named him George.



My lovely friend Kerry made some gluten free cupcakes to match the dinosaur theme (i especially like the nessie three cake series. One cake was the head one was the body and one the tail, bottom right on the stand, too cute!)



Work is a bit pants (read: complete nightmare) at the moment but that is really nearly on the verge of changing so im extremely excited about that. Hopefully i'll have more news on that soon.

If you would like to follow my rambling random posts there are a few links over on the sidebar there.
If not, thanks for stopping by =0)

CB


 

Tuesday

Jubilee Party!

Hello!

As i mentioned in my last post we've been celebrating the diamond Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth.
Now i am of the Scottish variety of British and we're not quite as well renowned for jumping up and down and camping out all night for the chance of a glimpse of a corgi. But we do love a good party especially when it comes with an extra wee day off :-)

So my effort to join in included lots of tea and cake and a wee glass (or 3!) of Gin and Tonic as i watched the Jubilee Concert, which was lovely. The Set by Madness with the light show on the Palace was EPIC, go google immediately!

Obviously my nails had to join the fun:




Now i did contemplate doing a traditional Union Flag affair but after a couple of tipples it seemed a bit daunting so i went for a more contemporary approach.

These are the colours i used:

(L-R China Glaze-Ruby Pumps, Angelica-Magnetic, Barry M-Navy)


I personally think of the queen as some distant kind of distant old friend of the family that only pops up at Christmas and maybe the odd wedding or funeral. If the fact that she's been plodding along doing a job she didn't exactly sign up for for 60 years doesn't entitle her to a bunch of flowers and box of choccies i don't know what does.

Cheers for the day off Liz!!